Funding Optimization Project
Heather MacDermid

Controller

Close
Patti Ryan
Chief Operating Officer

Patti is responsible for overseeing the implementation of ResearchNB’s operational plan to ensure we are accountable to our stakeholders in meeting our strategic goals and objectives.

Patti holds a master’s in public administration and a degree in Community Studies as well as several diplomas and certificates.  Her experience spans over 2 decades working in the health sector including roles in government, non-government, and private sector organizations.

Close
Chris Dickie
Director of Strategic Priorities

Chris Dickie holds a Bachelor of Science in Forestry from the University of New Brunswick and launched his career as a forestry contractor and consultant, managing operations and forest plans in Ontario and New Brunswick. In 2004, he joined INFOR Inc., serving 40,000+ private woodlot owners and Christmas tree producers.

Over the next decade, Chris collaborated with various stakeholders on programs and research projects. In 2014, he joined the New Brunswick Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture, and Fisheries, contributing to the 2016 economic development plan.

In 2018, Chris co-founded 1812 Hemp, focusing on CBD production. He also worked as a consultant, assisting companies in establishing operations in New Brunswick. In 2020, he embarked on constructing a multi- million-dollar COVID-19 test production facility.

In 2023, Chris became the Director of Strategic Priorities at ResearchNB, leveraging over a decade of experience in the bioeconomy sector.

Close
Candice Pollack
Director, External Affairs

On parental leave until Feb 2025

Candice Ashley Pollack is the Director, External Affairs with ResearchNB. Candice enjoys tackling complex challenges and believes that there is always a way to move the needle forward. With her education and background in law, as well as years of professional experience leading health and social systems improvement initiatives, she brings creativity, resourcefulness, critical thinking, and drive to every role she takes on.

 

Candice is also deeply passionate about public policy and human rights’ discourses. She has contributed to published works on youth participation rights, children’s rights in a globalized economy, and knowledge translation for policy decision-making.

 

Candice values the various communities she is a part of and has been actively volunteering with local and national non-profits for over 15 years. Currently, Candice is the Public Member of the New Brunswick Association of Social Workers’ Board of Directors, the Past-Chair of the Canadian Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Section, and the Second Vice-Chair of the Heart & Stroke Foundation of New Brunswick.

Close
Maha Imazitene
Director of Research

Maha is our Director of research. She leads the research officers team managing all our funding programs and ensuring funds are used equitably and in full alignment with the government guidelines and our research institutions needs.

Maha has more than 15 years of experience in business management. She has been working in the research and innovation space for the last 5 years supporting innovative ideas and projects.

Fluent in both official languages, Maha welcomes discussions around new concepts implementation, research impacts and innovation and technology implantation.

Maha lives in Moncton where she volunteers on several boards of directors and is engaged in community work.

Close
Alyssa Margeson
Senior Manager, Programs

On parental leave until June 2025

Alyssa (she/her) is responsible for overseeing research funding programs and grant competitions offered through ResearchNB.

Alyssa has worked with research and community-health programs for 10+ years in various capacities including roles with clinical research teams, academic institutions, and non-profit organizations. She is passionate about health equity and health systems research.

Alyssa holds a B.Sc. in Biology and Psychology from Dalhousie University and a M.Sc. in Public Health from the University of the West of England. Born and raised in NB, she is based out of the Saint John area.

Close
Alec Manley
Research Development Officer

Alec joins ResearchNB with over 5 years experience in the field of research administration and had also previously worked for a number of years in the provincial government in various research and analysis roles. His academic training saw him complete the Renaissance College program at UNB before heading to Ottawa to pursue a Masters degree in public policy and he has since completed a certificate program from Mohawk College in research administration. Outside of working hours, he can be found in the garden, greenhouse, climbing wall or just generally outside tinkering at his rural property outside Fredericton.

Close
Brandon Schlichter
Systems Analyst

As ResearchNB’s Systems Analyst, Brandon manages the lifecycle of our data, including data analysis, database management, reporting and process improvements. Brandon ensures the integrity, security, and accessibility of critical data assets instilling a culture of informed decisions and operational excellence. Based in Moncton, Brandon holds a BBA in Finance from UNB and a post-graduate certificate in Business Analysis from NBCC.

Close
Vy Cung
Junior Research Development Officer

Vy is a recent graduate from the University of New Brunswick with a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry. With numerous internship experiences across the academic, public, and private sectors under her belt, she brings a versatile set of skills and a comprehensive understanding of different organizational environments. In her free time, Vy enjoys practicing her new hobby, tennis or whipping up new recipes in the kitchen.

Close
Wendy Yerxa
Executive Assistant

Wendy is responsible for all office administration duties at ResearchNB including records management, financial claims and travel arrangement for international guests. Wendy also assists with the quarterly meetings of ResearchNB’s Board of Directors. Prior to joining the team, Wendy held administrative positions with the Government of New Brunswick and NB Power.

Close
Sebastien Soucy
Senior Manager, Marketing & Stakeholder Engagement

Sebastien is responsible for overseeing the marketing & stakeholder engagement operations at ResearchNB.

He brings a creative mindset and a modern approach to the marketing strategy, with over 7 years of marketing experience in various sectors including post-secondary, government and industrial.

Sebastien holds a B.B.A. in Marketing from Université of Moncton. Born and raised in NB, he is based out of the Moncton area.

Close
Emilio Reyes
Marketing & Technical Support

We welcomed Emilio to our team as our new Marketing & Communications Coordinator! Emilio is also providing marketing communications and technical support at BioNB as well. Emilio is a recent graduate of Memorial University and moved to Canada from Ecuador in 2017.

Close
Meaghan Seagrave
Strategic Advisor

Meaghan is responsible for implementing ResearchNB’s strategy, as set out by the board of directors, and providing leadership, and direction to the team.

Meaghan holds an MSc and several diplomas and certificates in Management Development and Communications. She helps connect research and innovation across the province and the region through her role as a director on various provincial, regional and national boards.

Close
Hazel Howland
Bookkeeper

Hazel is responsible for providing accounting/bookkeeping services to the team at ResearchNB.

Her most memorable work assignment was travelling to Cameroon, Africa to provide financial management on a CIDA project. She volunteers her time on the Board of Directors of the Progressive Credit Union.

Have a research idea?

We're here for you and your team. Let's talk about your research and innovation project.

Optimisation du financement
Heather MacDermid

Controller

Fermer
Patti Ryan
Chef de l'exploitation

Patti est chargée de superviser la mise en œuvre du plan opérationnel de ResearchNB afin de s’assurer que nous rendons compte à nos parties prenantes de la réalisation de nos buts et objectifs stratégiques.

Patti est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration publique et d’un diplôme en études communautaires, ainsi que de plusieurs diplômes et certificats. Elle a travaillé pendant plus de vingt ans dans le secteur de la santé, notamment dans des organisations gouvernementales, non gouvernementales et privées.

Fermer
Chris Dickie
Directeur des priorités stratégiques

Chris Dickie est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences forestières de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’entrepreneur et consultant en foresterie, gérant des opérations et des plans forestiers en Ontario et au Nouveau-Brunswick. En 2004, il s’est joint à INFOR Inc. qui dessert plus de 40 000 propriétaires de boisés privés et producteurs d’arbres de Noël.

Au cours de la décennie suivante, Chris a collaboré avec divers intervenants dans le cadre de programmes et de projets de recherche. En 2014, il a rejoint le ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Aquaculture et des Pêches du Nouveau-Brunswick, contribuant au plan de développement économique de 2016.

En 2018, Chris a cofondé 1812 Hemp, qui se concentre sur la production de CBD. Il a également travaillé en tant que consultant, aidant les entreprises à s’implanter au Nouveau-Brunswick. En 2020, il se lance dans la construction d’une installation de production expérimentale COVID-19 de plusieurs millions de dollars.

En 2023, Chris est devenu directeur de BioNB à ResearchNB, mettant à profit plus d’une décennie d’expérience dans le secteur de la bioéconomie.

Fermer
Candice Pollack
Directeur des affaires externes

En congé paternel jusqu’en mars 2025

Candice Ashley Pollack est la directrice des affaires externes de la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick. Candice aime affronter des défis complexes et croit qu’il est toujours possible de progresser. Grâce à son éducation et à son expérience en droit, ainsi que son expérience professionnelle dans la gestion d’initiatives visant l’amélioration des systèmes sociaux et de santé, elle apporte sa créativité, son ingéniosité, sa pensée critique et son ambition à chacun de ses rôles.

Candice est une grande passionnée de politiques publiques et de droits humains. Elle a contribué à des publications sur les droits de participation des jeunes, sur les droits des enfants dans une économie mondialisée, et sur le transfert de connaissances pour la prise de décisions en matière de politiques.

Candice tient à cœur les divers milieux desquels elle fait partie et est une bénévole active auprès d’organismes caritatifs locaux et nationaux depuis plus de 15 ans. Actuellement, Candice est représentante du public pour le conseil d’administration de l’Association des travailleuses et des travailleurs sociaux du Nouveau-Brunswick, présidente sortante de la section des jeunes avocats de l’Association du Barreau canadien, et deuxième vice-présidente de la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Fermer
Maha Imazitene
Directeur de la recherche

Maha est notre directrice de la recherche. Elle dirige l’équipe des chargés de recherche qui gèrent tous nos programmes de financement et veille à ce que les fonds soient utilisés de manière équitable et en parfaite adéquation avec les lignes directrices du gouvernement et les besoins de nos institutions de recherche.

Maha a plus de 15 ans d’expérience en gestion d’entreprise. Elle travaille dans le domaine de la recherche et de l’innovation depuis les cinq dernières années en soutenant des idées et des projets novateurs.

Maitrisant les deux langues officielles, Maha est prête à discuter de la mise en œuvre de nouveaux concepts, de l’impact de la recherche et de l’implantation de l’innovation et de la technologie.

Maha vit à Moncton, où elle siège bénévolement à plusieurs conseils d’administration et participe à des activités communautaires.

Fermer
Alyssa Margeson
Gestionnaire principal, Programmes

En congé paternel jusqu’en juin 2025

Alyssa est responsable de la supervision des programmes de financement de la recherche et des concours de subventions offerts par ResearchNB.

Alyssa travaille dans le domaine de la recherche et des programmes de santé communautaire depuis plus de 10 ans, à divers titres, notamment au sein d’équipes de recherche clinique, d’établissements universitaires et d’organismes à but non lucratif. Elle est passionnée par l’équité en matière de santé et la recherche sur les systèmes de santé.

Alyssa est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en biologie et en psychologie de l’Université Dalhousie et d’une maîtrise en santé publique de l’Université de l’Ouest de l’Angleterre. Née et élevée au Nouveau-Brunswick, elle vit dans la région de Saint John.

Fermer
Alec Manley
Responsable du développement de la recherche

Alec se joint à ResearchNB avec plus de 5 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de l’administration de la recherche. Il a également travaillé pendant plusieurs années au gouvernement provincial dans divers rôles de recherche et d’analyse. Dans le cadre de sa formation universitaire, il a suivi le programme du Collège Renaissance à l’UNB avant de se rendre à Ottawa pour obtenir une maîtrise en politique publique. Il a depuis terminé un programme de certificat en administration de la recherche au Collège Mohawk. En dehors des heures de travail, on peut le trouver dans le jardin, la serre, le mur d’escalade ou tout simplement à l’extérieur en train de bricoler sur sa propriété rurale à l’extérieur de Fredericton.

Fermer
Brandon Schlichter
Analyste de systèmes

En tant qu’analyste des systèmes de ResearchNB, Brandon gère le cycle de vie de nos données, y compris l’analyse des données, la gestion des bases de données, les rapports et l’amélioration des processus. Brandon veille à l’intégrité, à la sécurité et à l’accessibilité des données essentielles, instaurant ainsi une culture de décisions éclairées et d’excellence opérationnelle. Basé à Moncton, Brandon est titulaire d’un BBA en finance de l’UNB et d’un certificat d’études supérieures en analyse d’entreprise du NBCC.

Fermer
Vy Cung
Agent junior de développement de la recherche

Vy est récemment diplômée de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, où elle a obtenu une licence en biochimie. Avec de nombreuses expériences de stage dans les secteurs universitaire, public et privé à son actif, elle apporte un ensemble polyvalent de compétences et une compréhension globale des différents environnements organisationnels. Pendant son temps libre, Vy aime pratiquer son nouveau hobby, le tennis, ou concocter de nouvelles recettes dans la cuisine.

Fermer
Wendy Yerxa
Assistante exécutive

Wendy est responsable de l’administration du bureau de la FRSNB et de BioNB, y compris la gestion des dossiers, les demandes financières, et la logistique des déplacements pour les invités internationaux. Wendy aide aussi avec les rencontres trimestrielles des conseils d’administration de la FRSNB et de BioNB. Avant de se joindre à l’équipe, Wendy a occupé des postes administratifs auprès du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick et d’Énergie NB.

Fermer
Sebastien Soucy
Responsable du marketing et de l'engagement des parties prenantes

Sébastien est responsable de la supervision des opérations de marketing et d’engagement des parties prenantes à ResearchNB.

Il apporte un esprit créatif et une approche moderne à la stratégie de marketing, avec plus de 7 ans d’expérience en marketing dans divers secteurs, y compris l’enseignement postsecondaire, le gouvernement et l’industrie.

Sébastien détient un baccalauréat en marketing de l’Université de Moncton. Né et élevé au Nouveau-Brunswick, il est basé dans la région de Moncton.

Fermer
Emilio Reyes
Marketing et support technique

Nous souhaitons la bienvenue à Emilio, notre nouveau coordonnateur du marketing et des communications! Emilio offre aussi un soutien technique et en marketing et communications à BioNB. Emilio est récemment diplômé de l’Université Memorial et est arrivé au Canada de l’Équateur en 2017.

Fermer
Meaghan Seagrave
Conseiller stratégique
Meaghan est responsable de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie de la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick, tel qu’établie par le conseil d’administration, et de fournir le leadership et la direction à l’équipe de la Fondation.
Meaghan est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès Sciences et de plusieurs diplômes et certificats en développement des affaires et en communications. Elle aider à faire le pont entre la recherche et l’innovation dans la province et dans la région grâce à son rôle d’administratrice sur plusieurs conseil provinciaux, régionaux et nationaux.
Fermer
Hazel Howland
Comptable

Hazel est responsible de la comptabilité et de la tenue de livres pour l’équipe de la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Elle se souvient d’une affectation de travail où elle s’est rendue au Cameroun en Afrique pour offrir des services de gestion financière pour un projet de l’ACDI. Elle siège bénévolement au conseil d’administration des caisses populaires Progressive.

Vous avez une idée de recherche?

Nous sommes ici pour votre équipe. Parlons de votre projet de recherche et d’innovation.